One Month of Marriage

Nathan and I have officially made it through one month of marriage! I thought I would share a few thoughts about it so far…

First of all, no surprises yet. You always hear people say that “everything changes” when you get married. There are definitely a few things that have changed, but I don’t feel like there was a big life change like everyone warned me about. We spent basically every day together before we got married, and the only difference is now he does not leave for the night. We ate together, had a combined bank account, went all the same places (besides work events), attended church together.. I am still waiting for this monumental shift.

Next, I want to say how much I am looking forward to our life together. I spent a lot of time with our new baby nephew over the past weekend, and although we are not trying to have kids right away, it is most definitely something I am looking forward to. Nathan will make such a good dad. Also, after going to Jamaica, we can’t wait to go on more vacations together and see more of the world. That was the first time either of us had been out of the country, and I can’t even fathom how much more there is out there.

The last little tidbit for today is communication. The hubskis and I have always been pretty good communicators, but one struggle we are having is merging our schedules. We really need to get a calendar up on the fridge so we always know what’s going on that day/week/month.

Marriage is great, though! I cannot wait to spend the holidays with our new merged families! It’s a great time of year to be a newlywed!

Any newlyweds out there that want to share about their first discoveries about being married? Leave a comment below!

2 thoughts on “One Month of Marriage

  1. Hi Alex, I have just started a series about marriage on my blog. I am getting some of my newly married friends to share the challenges the faced when they first got married. Please drop by and have a read if this is of interest to you. Cheers.

  2. Pingback: Getting Organized for 2013! | All Things Adorable

Leave a Reply

